top of page

Search Results

85 items found for ""

  • June 12, 2023

    And West Egg ... installs egress windows? Well kind of. The 50 year old me would have dug out and hauled the dirt to install the window well, cut the CMU, framed the opening with treated lumber, and installed the window. The 65 year old me wrote a check. I did complete all the interior finish work. That amounted to rough framing the opening, insulating, sheet rocking, building & installing the new 12" wide jamb, and of course the window trim. I painted the wall and window trim to match existing. Very pleased with the results. We now have a legal (and safer) bedroom in our lower level. For more information on what the MN requirements are for a bedroom read the following article:

  • June 11, 2023

    Have you ever experienced the annoyance of a leaky faucet? Not only can it be irritating to listen to that constant drip-drip-drip, but it can also waste a significant amount of water over time. In this guide, I’ll walk you through the steps to fix a leaky faucet, helping you save water and money in the process. Read the entire article below:

  • June 9, 2023

    And West Egg .... builds and installs docks. I just finished this simple 4' x 8' Tommy Dock from Home Depot for a great neighbor down the street. Sturdy aluminum frame with two 4' x 4' composite decking inserts made this a little easier for one person to transport down to the lake and install. This dock will now allow their family access to the lake for their canoes and kayaks. Happy paddling.

  • June 1, 2023

    And West Egg ... builds picture frames. Let me show you how. There are the words "Home Services" that go along with the company name, West Egg Inspections. This may include some simple home maintenance, light remodeling, lawn mowing, snow removal, and sometimes every once in a while making picture frames. I've had several friends ask me about the frames I make for the puzzles that are mounted on my garage wall. I thought a YouTube video would be a good way to show how I cut the materials and assemble the frame.

  • May 24, 2023

    I've landed my first major project as a HUD consultant!!! Very excited to manage and oversee the remodeling of a 100+ year old home in East St. Paul where the buyer has agreed to ~$75,000 in repairs and upgrades. Even as a teenager I've always loved working on homes with my Dad and I've continued that passion with the ten different homes I've owned during my life-to-date. This new venture allows me to work with contractors and feel that high while having money come in vs. money go out. It is going to look beautiful when it is finished. More details and video of the progress as this gains traction.

  • May 19, 2023

    Buying a home is one of the most significant investments you’ll ever make, and it’s crucial to ensure that you’re making an informed decision. Hiring a licensed home inspector can provide you with the peace of mind that comes with knowing the true condition of the property. Here are some of the benefits: Identify Potential Problems Safety Save Money Peace of Mind Negotiation Power Read full article below.

  • May 9, 2023

    I am very excited to start a new venture partnering with Makeover Home Inspections & HUD Consulting as a 1099 employee. I have hit the ground running and have already started a new project in St. Paul. Makeover is based out of Indiana and has piloted a successful business model to be a one stop shop for customers who wish to purchase / remodel / upgrade their home. https://youtu.be/1OXMVXg-mWc They are rolling it out to other states and I'm on the ground floor here in Minnesota. It really is in my wheel house with my background in engineering, project management, and my home inspection business, West Egg. I sent off my application to the Department of Housing and Urban Development in April after taking hours of required training and putting together a package of my experiences and qualifications. I was informed on May 3rd that I was certified and later discovered that I am 1 out of only 10 active HUD 203(k) consultants in the State of Minnesota. So what does that mean? When you buy a property that needs structural repairs and/or needs repairs in excess of $35,000, you are talking about projects that may require professional experience and expertise in construction, architecture, building codes and more. Most homebuyers do not have the level of knowledge and experience required to oversee such a major undertaking. That’s why you need a good 203K consultant. Most 203K consultants are licensed home inspectors, general contractors, and sometimes architects. (Licensing requirements vary by state.) They must submit various documents that prove their expertise to HUD – the Department of Housing and Urban Development. The requirements are fairly rigorous, and only HUD-approved consultants are listed on the official FHA 203K Consultant Roster. The 203(k) consultant is like a football team’s offensive coordinator, a point guard that runs plays on a basketball court and a star infielder – all in one. Seem like an exaggeration? When it comes to 203(k) consultants the comparison is accurate: these professionals really can be the most valuable member of the team that helps out when you buy a home and make major repairs with a standard FHA 203K renovation loan – also called a Consultant K* loan. Read full article below:

  • April 30, 2023

    When you’re buying or selling a home, it helps to have an ally. Hiring a home inspector can help you avoid surprises at the closing table. Here is some advice for buyers and sellers alike. Don't Skip The Inspection! Ask About Insurance No Repairs? Be Ready To Ask For A Lower Price Which Issues Do You Need To Tackle First? DIY... Or Hire A Pro? Be Proactive Do A PreSale Inspection Check For Mold Check For Radon Full article below.

  • April 19, 2023

    Home maintenance does require effort. However, it is essential to stay on top of the maintenance of your home to help prevent or decrease the severity of major problems down the line. I’ve seen it too many times with a neighbor’s and / or friend’s house where neglect has lead to costly repairs. Spring is a good time to take on many of the home maintenance tasks listed below. The hours of daylight are getting longer and the temperature is warming up in MN so let’s start knocking these out. Full article below.

  • April 1, 2023

    Condensation in the Attic!!! "Who you Gonna Call!!!" No, not Ghostbusters. Condensation can happen in an attic when air that is heated in the home leaks into an attic space that is colder and then the temperature warms up quickly. Unfortunately, this is a major moisture problem and needs to be addressed quickly. This is because if left untreated, there will be damage to trusses, rafters, structural areas of the home, insulation, and belongings that are in the attic. On top of this, toxic black mold can form. Full article below.

  • March 20, 2023

    People getting home improvement projects done can be a never-ending goal. Whether you are adding more commodities or simply improving the home from age and wear; the upgrades, updates, repairs, and so on are certainly beneficial. More often than not, you can increase the home’s value, even if you do not have the intent to sell in the foreseeable future. Here is some vital information pertaining to your goals. Full article below.

  • February 18, 2023

    Visual, concise, and intuitive, Spectora delivers the modern experience today's market demands. The report’s clean layout emphasizes what's important. Easy navigation and smart filters make it understandable and easy-to-use. And the Agent Tools help agents do their job faster. Agents and clients appreciate a Spectora report. Sounds like a bit of an advertisement but.... There are a number of software companies and home inspection reports available to those of us in the industry. I tried several different ones and determined that Spectora not only met my clients and agents needs but it was intuitive and easy to use in the field.

bottom of page