top of page

Search Results

85 items found for ""

  • April 15, 2022

    Check your furnace filter monthly and change it when it’s dirty. You’ll get better heating in the winter and air conditioning in summer. You’ll save on your utility bills and extend the life of your furnace too. Full article below.

  • March 4, 2022

    During my time as a home inspector, and as a home owner, I have seen a wide range of electrical issues. I thought it would be interesting to our readers to compile the top electrical issues that I have observed: GFCI Outlets Missing or Defective Ungrounded Outlets Reverse Polarity Outlets Electrical Panel Age Concerns Smoke Detector or Carbon Monoxide Detector Concerns Full article below:

  • February 6, 2022

    First time homebuyers and others that are unfamiliar with how a house is constructed will benefit from this article. There are many occasions where a homeowner will need to know how to. find the "studs" to hang a heavy object, picture, etc. Wall studs are structural elements in the construction of homes. Studs are part of the framing of the building and are typically vertical wood beams that run from floor to ceiling. Full article below.

  • January 4, 2022

    Something a little different to start off the new year. Rogers was the sort of TV host that both kids and parents trusted and enjoyed. The series ran for 31 seasons, from 1968 through 2001. On the show, Rogers dispensed timeless wisdom about how to be kind to others, how to feel good about yourself, and what to do when you’re up against your worst fears. Found below are 20 of Rogers’ most memorable quotes, reminders of the good old days of turning on the TV and spending an afternoon in the neighborhood.

  • December 4, 2021

    A home inspection helps you make a more informed decision about the home you're considering buying. A home inspector can identify potential issues, plus give you a better idea of the ongoing maintenance the property will require. When you’re buying a house, a thorough home inspection can save you thousands of dollars in unexpected repairs — or from unwittingly buying a money pit. Found below is the full article.

  • November 19, 2021

    November is Lung Cancer Awareness Month. Did you know that: Radon is the Leading Cause of Lung Cancer Among Non-Smokers. It is the second leading cause of lung cancer in the United States. Nationally, the EPA estimates that about 21,000 people die each year from radon-related lung cancer. Only smoking causes more lung cancer deaths. Breathing radon over time increases your risk of lung cancer. You can take steps to reduce and control the amount of radon in your home. Testing is the only way to determine radon levels. EPA guidance suggests mitigating if levels are at or above 148 Becquerels / cubic meter or 4 picocuries / liter, typically abbreviated as 4 pCi / l. Usually, radon problems are resolved using an underground ventilation system, or ASD (Active Soil Depressurization). I am investing in equipment and the appropriate certifications / licenses required by the state of Minnesota to perform this testing service for my clients. My hope is to have everything in place starting in 2022. Full article is found below.

  • November 15, 2021

    Consider a few steps you can take on your own to ensure a smooth inspection. Based on feedback from an earlier entry on this same subject, I've included a one page summary checklist found below.

  • November 12, 2021

    House plumbing can be a mystery to the average homeowner. This is numero uno of a series of miscellaneous blogs over time to help with shedding some light on this area. Understanding the pipes in your home and their function starts with this one page primer on the different materials used and their pros and cons. This covers copper, PVC, CPVC, and PEX. Full article found below.

  • November 10, 2021

    Other than the unique name, what makes West Egg Inspections and Home Services LLC different than other home inspectors, and more importantly, why should you hire us? As I meet with prospective clients and members of the REALTOR® association I need to be able to quickly summarize what value I bring to the home buying process. There are many options out there. From larger inspection companies to one man shows like myself. We each bring something a little different to the party. I've summed it up in three bullet points: Owner / CPI Software / Report Writing Social Media Presence Found below are details included in my one page deliverable I leave with my client after our meeting.

  • November 8, 2021

    You can do several things to make a buyer's home inspection go smoothly and reduce negotiations after the home inspection. All this may have you wondering how to pass a home inspection? A home inspection doesn't have a pass or fail grade, it is a professional opinion of the home's condition provided by a home inspector according to the inspector's Standards of Practice. Found below is the full article.

  • October 27, 2021

    Fall is here and the weather is beautiful in Minnesota, but we all know what's coming next. Yes, there's snow in the forecast. If you haven't finished your fall maintenance list, get on it now. To help you remember everything you're supposed to do as a Minnesota homeowner, I've compiled a comprehensive list of fall maintenance items that can found below.

  • October 26, 2021

    I am already entertaining questions from friends and family as to why "West Egg". It comes from the novel "The Great Gatsby" by F. Scott Fitzgerald that I have enjoyed reading. First of all, the author is a native of St. Paul, MN so there is already a hometown connection. Second, the difference between the two fictional towns of East Egg and West Egg. East Egg is a place of residence for the people who inherited their wealth, while West Egg is a place where people who worked for their wealth lived. East Egg was used to refer to the places where those with inherited or “Old” money live. I feel I have worked hard in my career for the better part of my life. I would have definitely lived in West Egg with Jay Gatsby. I also enjoy hosting parties but nothing as lavish as in the novel. Third, I live on a small lake with my beautiful bride in a suburb of St. Paul and have a dock similar to the picture on the left which I have incorporated into my logo. While there is not a physical green light across the lake (nor Daisy Buchanan) it does symbolize my hopes and dreams of starting a new career in Home Inspection as I gaze at the other houses across the water.

bottom of page